Sea Captain George Flavel constructed
Flavel House in 1885. It has six fireplaces that are all hand-carved mantels and tiles imported from Italy, Holland, Belgium and Algeria. This beautiful Victorian Home is located at 8th and Dune Streets downtown and is open daily 10 am-5 PM in summer; $4
Fort Astoria was built in 1811 when agents acting for millionaire John Jacob Astor founded the first successful permanent American commercial post in the Northwest, Astoria. A reproduction is at the present site.
The Columbia River Maritime Museum, Oregon's Official Maritime Museum, near 17th Street on the north side of waterfront Marine Drive. Exhibits display nautical heritage of the Columbia River and NW Coast year round. Closed Thanksgiving & Christmas. Open daily 9:30 am-5pm
Uppertown Firefighters Museum. 30th & Marine Drive 97103 Original Fire Station collection of firefighting equipment used from 1877-1963. Hours: Fri, Sat 10am-5pm; Sun 1-5pm Admission
Traveling southwest of Astoria you’ll come to Warrenton. Here you’ll find where Lewis and Clark wintered on the Coast at
Part of the Lewis & Clark National Historic Park, this area features a range of exhibits in the visitor center, a full scale replica of the log fort, and
"living history" reenactments. The nicely landscaped trails and picnic sites make this a perfect stop, open daily 9am-5 PM;
Seaside Museum. 570 Necanicum Seaside and Oregon Coast history, including early tourism history, the restored 1893 Butterfield beach cottage, and Clatsop Indian artifacts. Hours: daily 10:30am-4:30pm.
Tillamook County Museum Established in 1935, the museum houses a quilt room, doll and toy room, sheriff's vault, Victorian parlor, Tillamook Indian artifacts, stagecoach, blacksmith's shop, steam logging donkey and much more. 2106 Second Street 842-4553
Tillamook Naval Air Station Museum (Blimp Hangar Museum) The remaining of the two original blimp hangars is the largest free-span wooden structure in the world and were used for a fleet of eight K-type blimps during World War II. The museum covers the history of the Naval Air Station and lighter-than-air technology, and features the Northwest's biggest collection of World War II fighter planes including a B-20 Pregnant Guppy and 2 Blimps. 4000 Blimp Blvd.
The Garibaldi Museum, dedicated to the maritime history of the Pacific Northwest and the voyages of Capt. Robert Gray, is open from noon to 4 p.m. Thursday through Monday
The North Lincoln County Historical Museum has displays on Lincoln City’s Native American population and pioneer settlement with interesting displays of the development of the area's logging industry.
Admission is free to the
Oregon Coast History Center which
includes the Burrows House, the Maritime Center and the Log Cabin
Research Library. 545 S.W. 9th Street (541) 265-7509
The Alsea Bay Interpretive Center chronicles the history of Native American life at Alsea Bay, early pioneer settlement, ferry travel, modern road development, and bridge history. The center features the history of the Alsea Bay Bridge and pays tribute to Conde B.McCullough, whose beautifully designed bridges cross many rivers and bays on the Oregon Coast. Clamming and crabbing demonstrations are also available, call for times and locations. Waldport (541) 563-2002
Little Log Church at the corner of 3rd and Pontiac streets in Yachats has been a part of this coast community for generations. Built in the shape of a cross from local timber hauled downt he Yachats River, the Little Log Church was completed and dedicated in 1930.
Siuslaw Pioneer Museum includes an old Indian Dugout Canoe in the center of the main room, old kitchen complete with cookstove, blacksmith's bellows and steam engine.
Umpqua Discovery Center is a fascinating hands-on center that includes a working weather station, scale model of the Gardiner Saw Mill, interpretive displays of the areas dunes and landscape, and an operational periscope for a fascinating view of the Umpqua River. See the seismic traveling exhibit this summer, on loan from the Oregon Museum of Science and Industry. 271-4816
The Smith & Watson Steam Donkey arrived in 1915 and was used in the log yards for many years. You can see it today in downtown Reedsport.
The Coos County Historical Museum has an early 20th century steam locomotive, Native American artifacts, and various implements used by pioneers. A special tribute to Olympic runner Steve Prefontaine is exhibited with the Prefontaine Memorial. Simpson Park, North Bend (541) 756-6320
Marshfield Sun printing museum displays a collection of presses, type, historic newspapers and photographs of historic Coos Bay (formerly Marshfield). Front Street, Open Tuesday - Saturday 1-4
Coos Art Museum features a variety of exhibits in various mediums, travelling exhibits, and a fine, permanent print collection. 235 Anderson Open Tuesday - Saturday Call 267-3901 for current exhibits.
Coquille River Museum, Bandon, features displays of historic ships and ocean activities as well as Native American artifacts and exhibits. Hwy 101 & Fillmore Open Mon - Sat 10-4 541-347-2164
The Historic Hughes House , located at Cape Blanco State Park, celebrates its 100th anniversary this year. Tour this 19th century Victorian home, on the National Register of Historic Homes, filled with beautiful furnishings from the era and is . (541) 332-6774
The newly opened Port Orford Lifeboat Station offers a unique and fascinating look at the history of the Coast Guard and its heroic lifesaving efforts. The museum contains artifacts and memorabilia as well as historic crafts used over the years. Located at Port Orford Heads State Park, the Station is open Thur - Mon, 10 - 3:30, April thru Oct.
Curry County Historical Museum in Gold Beach contains a replica of a country store and a miner's cabin in addition to its many pioneer, Indian, logging, and shipping displays. 29410 S. Ellensburg Ave. 541-247-6113
Jerrys Rogue River Museum exhibits the history of the Rogue with displays, artifacts and documents from its exciting past. Open year-round. Port of Gold Beach 800-451-3645
Chetco Valley Museum is housed in the historic 1857 Blacke House in Brookings. Wonderful displays portray the history of this coastal community and the largest Monterey cypress in the US is on the grounds. Thurs - Sun noon to 4 with extended summer hours 15461 Museum Road, 469-6651